Subscribe to our mailing list

Rahul Sapra


Brain Power student Rahul Sapra attended this year’s Harvard Model United Nations (HMUN). HMUN is a four-day international relations simulation for high school students held annually in downtown Boston. At HMUN, delegates gain insight into the workings of the United Nations and the dynamics of international relations by assuming the roles of UN representatives and members … Continue reading "Rahul Sapra"

Julie Sue-A-Quan


Congratulations to Brain Power alumna Julie Sue-A-Quan on her acceptance into SHAD Valley! To get into the competitive Canadian summer enrichment program for high-achieving high school students is no small feat! SHAD is a registered Canadian charity that empowers exceptional youth to make the world a better place (focusing on engineering, math, business, and science)! Each … Continue reading "Julie Sue-A-Quan"

Diviya Leonard

JANUARY 20TH, 2018

Check out the accomplishments of 16-year-old public-speaking student, Diviya Leonard!  She created a social justice blog ( viewed in over 90 countries (2013-present). She has featured in the Toronto Star article “Toronto women on the future of feminism” profiling female activists (2017), on cover of Owl Magazine Issue on Social Activists (2016), and in the Canadian Race Relations 150 Stories … Continue reading "Diviya Leonard"

LEGO League Tournament

JANUARY 20TH, 2018

Brain Power participated in the York Region FIRST Robotics Canada LEGO League Tournament at Markham District High School (MDHS) on December 9th! Student teams competed for an opportunity to go to the Provincial tournament in January, and Team Komet scored the highest points at Robotics and won first place. Guided by adult Coaches, FIRST LEGO League teams research a … Continue reading "LEGO League Tournament"

Think Tank 2017


On Saturday, December 2nd, the Markham Mayor’s Youth Council (MMYC) held their annual Think Tank event, “an evening of inspirational speeches….it brings almost 200 high school students from across the GTA together under one roof – allowing youth to network while listening to passionate speakers with topics ranging from personal growth to humorous anecdotes, from … Continue reading "Think Tank 2017"